Rock bottom

When it comes to blogging I feel I have to remain positive.  I don’t have to share to the world every little thing that goes wrong with my personal life.  After all, who wants to be saddled with someone else’s woes on top of their own, right?

That’s a bit strange and contradictory though.  In every Agile workshop I organize you’ll find me convincing everyone they should admit when they are having trouble completing the task they are working on.  The first step in resolving trouble is to be open about it. This requires honesty from the people who are experiencing the issue and respect from the other team members who shouldn’t judge nor blame anyone…  After all, everyone has gone through rough times that affected them so profoundly that their work suffered because of it.  Who didn’t have sleepless nights over a fight with a friend or a close relative?

Whether personal or not, such issues we should recognize the effects and where they are originating so we can learn from them.

At this very moment this all seems theory to me.  I’ve been ill with a flu for over a week now, I still feel terrible and can barely spare any time reading without it triggering a major migraine.  Our beautiful Victorian house just doesn’t get sold for a reason I can’t understand and it’s turning into a money pit.  And I really hate what’s going on with the world, terrorism, ineffective politics, global warming, discrimination…  Why I just can’t help feeling so incredibly down?  There seems to be no way out, it made me think about this Pink Floyd track.

Pink Floyd – Comfortably Numb

Hello?

Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me.
Is there anyone home?
Come on now
I hear you’re feeling down.
Well I can ease your pain
Get you on your feet again.
Relax.
I’ll need some information first.
Just the basic facts.
Can you show me where it hurts?

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship smoke on the horizon.
You are only coming through in waves.
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying.
When I was a child I had a fever
My hands felt just like two balloons.
Now I’ve got that feeling once again
I can’t explain you would not understand
This is not how I am.
I have become comfortably numb.

O.K.
Just a little pinprick.
There’ll be no more, ah!
But you may feel a little sick.
Can you stand up?
I do believe it’s working, good.
That’ll keep you going through the show
Come on it’s time to go.

There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon.
You are only coming through in waves.
Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying.
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye.
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown,
The dream is gone.
I have become comfortably numb.

Comfortably Numb lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc., IMAGEM U.S. LLC

2 thoughts on “Rock bottom

Leave a Reply

